Spoken Music Written Word Filmography Biography Home Upcoming email


Come Closer CD

COME CLOSER is Leanne Averbach’s second CD collaboration with the band Indigo, building on Fever's sultry fusion of poetry with original and classic jazz standard compositions. Come Closer adds rock and electronic fusion sounds to the mix, drawing you again into wild tales of passion, politics and love through the ever-seeking poet’s lens.






Track List:

01. FEVER – music & lyrics from Fever by John Davenport (1956)

02. UNSEXY – original music by Indigo

03. A THING PAST – music & lyrics from So Lonesome I Could Cry by Hank Williams (1949)

04. YOU BELONG TO ME – music & lyrics from You Belong to Me by Pee Wee King, Chilton Price, Redd Stewart (1952)

05. MY YOUTH MACHINE-ROLLED, SMOKED TO ITS STUB – music & lyrics from Working Class Hero by John Lennon (1970)

06. RODEO & JULIET – music & lyrics from Crazy by Willie Nelson (1952)

07. A TASTE OF CITY – original music by Indigo

08. CARWASH – original music by Indigo

09. APOLOGY – original music by Indigo

10. WHERE ENVELOPES COME FROM – original music by Indigo

11. INTERNET DATING – original music by Indigo

Copyright © 2015 Leanne Averbach. All rights reserved.



FEVER offers up a sultry fusion of spoken word and jazz. Featuring 12 poems produced, written and spoken by Leanne, with original music by Indigo: Astrid Sars (vocals, sax, flute); Danny Parker (double bass, ud); Glenna Powrie (piano).

Poetry performed on this CD also appears in Leanne's book fever



Track List:

01. Carwash - Music by Indigo

02. Fever - Music & Lyrics from Fever by Peggy Lee
Listen to MP3 Preview

03. Abattoir - Music by Indigo

04. Ode to the Hot Pepper - Music & Lyrics from Summertime by George Gershwin
Listen to MP3 Preview

05. Internet Dating - Music by Indigo
      Listen to MP3 Preview

06. Rodeo & Juliet - Music & Lyrics from Crazy by Patsy Cline

07. The Birds of Sarajevo - Music by Indigo

08. Spring - Music by Indigo

09. Is Just a Kiss - Music & Lyrics from As Time Goes By by Herman Hupfield

10. Opening - Music from Take the A Train by Duke Ellington

11. Memories Don't - Music by Indigo

12. Aisle of Hope (a drugstore romance) - Music/Lyrics from Let's Get Lost by Jimmy McHugh


"The poems swing from worldly to wild."
      Georgia Straight, Vancouver

“Averbach’s poetry ranges from the erotic to the political, and the dynamic sounds that mix classic Gershwin to Chet Baker with original compositions give poetry an afterlife of freshness that pulls you in.”
      Word on the Street Festival, Vancouver